Welsh Grand National Horse Race

Welsh Nash 2 1200x900 1

The Welsh Grand National horse race is one of the longest-standing races in world racing. The Welsh Horse Riding Club has organized the event since 1878, and this year’s race will be the 165th annual running. The race is open to horses aged four years and older and typically attracts a field of around runners. The race is contested over a distance of about miles, and the winner normally takes home a purse of approximately £50,000.

1010592 1022 1

Some of the most notable winners of the Welsh Grand National include:

– Red Rum (1973)

– Aldaniti (1981)

– Minnesota (1988)

– Earth Summit (1998)

– Hedgehunter (2005)

– Mon Mome (2009)

The Welsh Grand National is one of the oldest horse races globally. It first took place in 1839 at Aintree racecourse, Liverpool, but it was moved to Chepstow Racecourse due to logistical problems. Every Easter Monday, the Grand Welsh National takes place, with many spectators arriving just for this event. This year’s running of the Welsh Grand National will take place on Monday, April 21st.

The race is 4 miles and 1 furlong (6,4 km) long with 24 fences to jump. It’s one of three races called ‘The Triple Crown,’ together with the English Grand National and the Irish Grand National. The winner receives a perpetual silver trophy and a £20,000 prize.

To be eligible for the Grand National, a horse must have either raced or been trained in Wales during the previous 12 months. The race is open to horses aged four years and up, and there are usually around 30 entries.

The event takes place annually at Chepstow Racecourse and is one of the longest-standing races in world racing. The racecourse can be pretty testing, with the horses having to negotiate banks, ditches, and fences. In 2009, the Welsh Grand National was won by the 100-1 outsider, The Last Samurai.

The Grand National at Aintree, and many of the competitors typically race in both races. As with all of horse racing’s Triple Crown events, if a horse wins The Welsh Grand National, that horse cannot compete in future editions of either The English or Irish versions of that race. Horses must also wait 31 days between competing in two different races organized by The Jockey Club, which include The Welsh and English Grand Nationals and the Cheltenham Festival.

This year’s edition of the Welsh Grand National will take place on Saturday, April 2nd, 2016. There are expected to be around 23 horses lining up for a start for this year’s event, including the British steeplechaser, Cue Card. The current favorite for the race is Rock on Ruby at odds of 5/1 with Paddy Power, followed by Vautour and Un De Sceaux, who are both at odds of 10/1.

The Grand Welsh National is an annual horse race at Chepstow Racecourse in Wales. This year’s running will be the 165th time the event has occurred. The Welsh Grand National is one of three races in “The Triple Crown,” including the English Grand National and Irish Grand National.

International Hurdle


The Welsh Horse Riding Club had organized the race ever since 1878, first held at Aintree Racecourse in Liverpool, England. However, this year’s race will be run in Wales at Chepstow Racecourse because, in 1947, Welsh racing officials began having problems with turf quality following World War II.

Many significant jockeys have participated, including Bob Sevier, Harry Escott, Harry Wragg, George Dockeray, and John Francome. Horses that have won the Grand National include Prince Regent (1892), Cloister (1926), and Esher (1986).

This year’s race will be run at approximately 5:20 PM GMT on April 14th. The Welsh Grand National is run over four miles and two furlongs with 18 fences to be jumped along the way. The horses that participate in this event are three-year-old thoroughbreds that are either geldings or stallions. Owners may enter horses for this race if they were born in Wales or finished in first place at another horse race held in Wales during the current year. Horse trainers must also be registered in Wales.

The Grand Welsh National is a race that should not be missed if you are a horse racing fan. It is one of the longest-running races globally, and the history behind it is fascinating. Tune in this April to see who will take home the trophy. The Welsh Grand National is a very special race. It is one of the most famous races globally and has been running for over 150 years. The race began at Aintree Racecourse in Liverpool but was moved to Chepstow, Wales, in 1980 because it was no longer possible to fit all 40 runners on the course at Anfield.

The Welsh Grand National is a unique race that aims to find out which horse can run between 25 and 30 miles in under four hours with jumps worth up to five pounds per pole. This type of contest is not available anywhere else in British racing. And, even though it’s quite challenging, more than 80 horses typically enter this year’s edition of the race.

Perhaps the most famous jockey in the history of Welsh Grand National is Bob Champion. After overcoming cancer, this man became a household name when he won the 1983 race. He was named BBC Sports Personality of the Year in 1982 and 1983, and in 2013 Welsh Grand National horses raced for the 20th time under his colors.

The most successful trainers at Welsh  National are Venetia Williams (3 wins), Martin Pipe (2 wins), and Nigel Twiston-Davies (2 wins). The six winners all came from these stables, but this year’s event will be different because 13 has become an unlucky number for all three trainers

Robbie Dunne is looking to win the 2017 Welsh Grand with Rogue Angel, whom he claims to have always believed in. He recently came in 8th place with this horse at the Cheltenham Gold Cup, and he is determined to make up for his loss here on Saturday.

Native River (2014 winner) and Silver Birch are two of the most successful Welsh Grand National horses. The former was a gelding who won this race twice, while the latter is a mare that also claimed two victories. After her final win at the 2017 Grand Welsh National, she retired from racing.

The owner of Coming Home Hero, Roger Brookhouse finished the second 4 times before winning the 2016 edition of Grand National. 11 different horses have come out victorious since 1900. Still, only seven will run this year because their owners have taken out four.

The 2018 Grand National will be held on April 1st in Chepstow, Wales. It will be the 165th edition of this race, which is one of three contests that make up what’s called the Triple Crown along with English Grand National and Irish Grand National. This contest was first run at Aintree Racecourse in Liverpool before moving to Chepstow in 1980. More information about all things related to Welsh Grand National can be found by checking out their website

Similar Posts